Hta Or Bylaw? Carrying Points?

A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Reflections, admin, Radar Identified, hwybear, bend, Decatur

scorpio10

Hta Or Bylaw? Carrying Points?

Unread post by scorpio10 »

Long story short... yesterday around 5:45pm, I was heading home from the grocery store, bus cut in front of me, so I turned a way I never go. It was quiet around for traffic had passed. Approached a side road, made sure no cars/not a one way/no kids/etc. and turned left from the main road. Cop lights up behind me and tells me I turned during the 3-6pm period that the signs say.

They DO say that, I checked, but they are very blended and with a 4 lane road, far apart, so that you only see them if you're stopped and looking closely for a long time, or already began to turn. I honestly did not see them and I was looking everywhere, as I am a very cautious driver.

I told him I honestly think the signs were not placed properly and not in proper view. I SAW him waiting at the corner, so obviously if the signs were more visible, I would never have turned there. Anyways, he ticketed me with "Disobey sign directing traffic" contrary to "By-law 9148" of our city. He was very confusing, mentioned something about the HTA and no points associated with this ticket. $125. Told me "do not pay it, instead get a early meeting and they'll take care of it for you" (??!).

I've talked to about 10 different cops and paralegals. A few have told me there are 2 points with this by-law, a few were unsure about by-laws, all of them told me to fight it because that corner has had many issues with the signs blending in and cops stake out there all the time because they know it's too hard.