fantasyliving12

First Speed Ticket Reduced To 15km

by: fantasyliving12 on

Hi all,

I have been driving for over 10 years without any tickets and accidents what so ever. Unfortunately my luck ran out this past Friday; when the officer pulled me over doing 80 in a 50 zone in Mississauga, Ontario. Officer was very friendly and polite not to mention nice enough to reduce the charge to 15KM.

On the speeding ticket it now says doing 65km in a 50 zone. Never having a speeding ticket not sure how this will effect my insurance. I am thinking about hiring a lawyer to fight this ticket. What are my chances of winning? The officer did mention that if i do take it to court, the evidence will show doing 80.

How should I handle this? I thank you for any input you guys share.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

As far as insurance goes, 15 over or 30 over will most likely affect it the same, meaning it could go up.

If you take it to trial, the prosecutor will ask for the charge to be amended back up to 30 over, so if you lose it will be 30 over.

So first post a copy of the ticket here (blank out any personal info) and we can check it for fatal errors.

Assuming no fatal errors, then what I always recommend is to plead NOT GUILTY and request a Trial with the Officer present. Once you get your notice of trial, you can then request disclosure (officers notes, radar manual, video, etc.)

Once you get this disclosure, post a copy of the officers notes here and we can then comment further as to next steps.

Best case is we see something in the notes that will give you a good chance of winning and maybe you can fight it yourself or hire a paralegal to represent you.