southpaw

Dealing With The After Math Of A Suspension

by: southpaw on

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum so forgive me if I'm not doing this right!

I'm a G2 driver, and me being foolish I did 118km/h in an 80km/h zone, and rightfully so I was caught by an officer and given the full ticket. I chose not to fight it because I felt it was a much needed wake up call on my driving. So that resulted in my license being suspended for 30 days, which wasn't as nearly as bad as I thought. Biking isn't so bad after all! On Wednesday (4 days from now), I will get my license back and probably continue biking for the rest of the summer, however that is not an issue. My issue is insurance: I've heard to many stories and "facts" to be able to see what will happen next. I've been told my insurance won't go up, my insurance is going to go up to $8 000 a year and everywhere in between. So my questions are:

how much on average does insurance go up in a case like mine?

How long until it goes off my record and my insurance goes back to normal?

Is it possible I won't get charged at all? I've heard that my insurance will only charge me more money if they see the offence on my record.

Is there any way to prove I've learned from my mistake and get it taken off my record early?

If you have any other insight you can share, or stories, it would be very helpful.

Thanks

When you've got something to prove, there's nothing greater than a challenge
Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

$8000/year is a bit excessive. In fact, that's in the territory of Facility Insurance, which basically is for high-risk drivers who have a pathological need to repeatedly crash their vehicles and get all kinds of tickets from police officers. (Okay not a pathological need but if you look at some of the people who are under Facility Insurance you might draw that conclusion... anyway...) I highly doubt that $8000/year is coming your way for the one offence.