A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
saxy

Do I Have Any Options?

by: saxy on

I should start by saying that the ticket is actually for 10 over, but there's no forum for that. It was reduced to 60 in a 50 from 71 in a 50.

So basically, as a young-ish driver, my rates are already rather high, and I don't get the benefit of one completely forgiven minor conviction that some older drivers might. So after running some quotes, this could cost me over 1200 over 3 years in insurance (motorcycle and car). Which is why I'm concerned about this minor ticket.

Couple questions:

1. I assume my best options if I want any chance of getting rid of this is to request a trial and request disclosure (is that what it's called? getting the officer notes, radar maintenance schedule etc?). What do I look for in all this? Assuming the ticket is without mistakes (I believe it is, but I'll double check tomorrow, it's at the office).

2. To request a trial, do I have to go to the courthouse, or do I just wait? It says to go to the courthouse on the ticket, but people are telling me just to wait.

3. If I request a trial, get all the disclosure etc, and figure out I've no chance, up til what point can I still plead guilty to the reduced charge?

I asked x copper about it, and emailed a copy of the ticket on their request for more info, but I've heard nothing since...just to be sure; they can't just go about representing me without me signing something, right?

Thanks in advance!

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

saxy wrote:1. I assume my best options if I want any chance of getting rid of this is to request a trial and request disclosure (is that what it's called? getting the officer notes, radar maintenance schedule etc?). What do I look for in all this? Assuming the ticket is without mistakes (I believe it is, but I'll double check tomorrow, it's at the office).