ynotp

Posting Awards

Commercial Truck Requirements

by: ynotp on

Having heard many stories from owners commercial type trucks at or above 4500 kg. I have heard a lot of people complain that they have not been able to find out what all of the requirements that apply to them in a clear concise format. Unfortunately most of them seem to only find out when they are pulled over for the first time and even then the officers may only site them for only some of the infractions.

I am not an expert, but I have compiled a starter list of the rules and regulations that you should know at a bare minimum. (There are exceptions for tow trucks, farmers and motor homes.)

For most trucks with a gross registered OR actual weight of 4500 kg or more you are expected to have the following:

1. The proper class of drivers license.

If your loaded or empty trailer weights more than 4600 kg you will need a class A license

If the truck you drive has an actual or is registered for a weight GREATER than 11,000 kg you will need a class A or D licence.

If you have in improper license you will ticketed and be told to park the truck and call a properly licensed driver to drive the truck home for you.

2. An annual inspection sticker affixed to the truck and trailer (if heavy).

This is a yellow sticker that a expires every year, it requires a mechanics inspection. You get this from a licensed mechanic.

3. A CVOR certificate inside the truck and the CVOR number displayed on the sides of the truck.

You apply to the MTO for this it expires every year and needs renewal.

4. The business name displayed on the side of the truck (if you are a business).

5. Conduct the the proper pretrip inspection and fill out report to be filled out EVERY DAY.

Not accurately completing the report every day that you use the truck will get you fined.

Check with the MTO for samples of the type of daily inspection you need to fill out.