tk17.93

Careless Driving Incident

by: tk17.93 on

Let me start this off by saying I'm a new driver (got my G2 around June). Anyway, I was taking a left turn at a yellow, got t-boned and as a result automatically at fault. (I don't personally believe this but don't feel like disputing that now). Damage was pretty big, both cars are going to get written off but, no major injuries. There was one witness who BARELY saw what happened but apparently it was good enough for the cops. Got charged with careless driving so I have a couple questions and want a best/worst case scenario breakdown of this, if possible

1) When I fight this in court, what can I possibly expect to occur? Is there a high chance of me still being charged with careless driving, or could it be fought down?

2) Insurance rates, what's a reasonable estimate for how high its going to go? (I know it depends on the company but a rough estimate would be nice)

That's pretty much it, thanks for your help, much appreciated

ynotp

Posting Awards

by: ynotp on

If you seek early resolution, they might drop it to left turn not in safety. Personally, if you feel that you were driving properly, I'd hire a professional and try and win the case. Having an at fault accident is bad news but add a Careless driving charge and your insurance will be one step below someone who drinks and drives. Making it cheaper to take a cab everywhere you go.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

tk17.93 wrote:

Just so you are aware, you are a novice driver who falls under novice driver sanctions. Careless driving comes with a 6 demerit point penalty. Since it is a single offense carrying 4 or more points, your license will be suspended for 30 days. It's something to consider if by chance you are offered a plea deal for a charge with less than 4 points.

Passing Thru

by: Passing Thru on