Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
28WCC

2 Tickets - Fail To Obey Signs; Insurance Card.

by: 28WCC on

Hi all - your suggestions and advices would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

Here is my story:

January 13, Sunday morning, I made a U-turn at the intersection of Brimley and Progress in Scarborough. And I was then pulled over by a cop. He pointed out that I should not have made a U-turn, as there is a clear "no U-turn" sign. He then noticed my insurance card is old, expired. I forgot to put the new one in the car. He gave me 2 tickets - Disobey sign, $110; Fail to have insurance card, $65.

The sign is not straight "no U-turn" sign. Instead it is a block, with an arrow beside it. My understanding, after researching, it's called "stay on right side of the island". So this is my first question here - did I really commit the offence?

Next, I studied the tickets bit by bit. I looked through every single detail on it to see if the cop made any mistake. I found one. For the Disobey Sign ticket, he wrote "Contrary to: H.T.A; Sect. 128". After researching, I'm sure sect 128 is wrong. In H.T.A., sect 128 is about speeding. The correct sect is 182. My question here - is this a fatal error? If I'm to take option 3 to request a trial, do I have a good case to ask the prosecutor to withdraw it, based on this error?

For the insurance card offence, it seems a relatively minor one. I read on this forum that you might get it dropped or reduce fine if you go to the court...

Thank you all for reading. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on