Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
AKULA123

Failed To Stop At A Stop Sign Officer Said To Go To Court

by: AKULA123 on

Hi, I have a court date coming up on the 19th, I got my ticket last year on december 3rd. I was driving on a very dark road I think it might have been raining that day too and I did not see the stop sign at all. The police officer stops me and sees that I'm a new driver and said that he didn't want to ruin my record but said that he has to give me a ticket because it was all caught on his camera but he told me to go to court.

So what does this mean? Is he not going to show up and I can just plea not guilty?

I took a few pictures of the place recently but they are not that good, except for the fact that they show that there is no white line on the ground anywhere and that the stop sign is a bit off to the side on a pole.

tdottopcop

by: tdottopcop on

A couple things to be aware of:

1) you were charged December 3rd, and I'm assuming your court date is coming up after that date plus one year. Take a look through any threads about how to file an 11b charter motion- the argument could be made that your rights were infringed upon due to failure to be granted a trial within a reasonable amount of time (generally 11 months from date of charge). If this is carried out successfully the justice of the peace will have no choice but to have the charge withdrawn.

2) Officers are lawfully required to go to court- and they generally show up, or they risk being documented and 'fined' under the Police Services Act. Expect him to be present, however, certain circumstances may cause him not to be present which is good for you... however I wouldn't count on it.