calgary1983

Advice On What To Do - Failing To Stop For School Bus

by: calgary1983 on

I would appreciate sensible advice on what I should do / what is likely to happen as a result of the following.

I approached a school bus on a 2 lane road, which was stopped on the opposite side and had the stop sign out and probably flashing lights. I am a new driver to Canada (less than 1 year but full licence) and have never encountered a stopped school bus before - this situation would also not occur in the UK as school children generally use normal public transit where no special laws apply. I slowed right down (literally crawling pace) as I was not sure what the law was for approaching from the opposite direction. As I approached the bus, and as there were no children crossing or looking to cross, I tried mouthing / gesturing to the driver whether I needed to stop, but did not get any sort of response. So I passed very hesitantly and knew I'd made a mistake as the driver who had stopped behind the bus made it clear.

Having searched the MTO site it appears I am likely to receive up to a $2000 fine and certainly 6 points. I feel terrible about this. I have no defense really apart from ignorance of the specific law. The bus driver is certain to report it, especially as I slowed down so much and therefore made it easy for a number plate identification to be made.

Based on the above and personal experience, is there likely to be any lenience in the punishment or a specific approach I should take. I am willing to take a punishment but wondered if I will get the full force of the law.

Thanks

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on