My Careless Charge Story

MLEO

My Careless Charge Story

Unread post by MLEO »

At the time I was working for a very well known security guard and electronic security company... I am a electronics technician by trade and at the time I was charged I was driving along Sheppard ave east in Scarborough near the pickering border at Kingston road.

It was late January early morning I think it was just after rush hour.

I was zipping along doing around 70 kph the light went yellow and the car in front of me decides to slam the brakes on... I had already committed myself to going through the yellow because I felt I was at the point of no return so I changed lanes and went around the car and proceeded through the intersection.

I continued on my merry way I changed lanes a few times along the way to my first job of the day... I am always a courteous driver because of the marked van and the prominently displayed telephone number on all corners.

Next thing I know there is a cruiser trying to pull me over. I stopped he came up did the usual thing he asked questions and basically gave me the usual I am better than you routine.

He checked me out obviously and found that I haven't had a ticket in around 16 years.

When he returned I was presented with a careless ticket... He freely told me why he chose this offence... "Cold, wet road, accidents all over the city, speeding and red light"... well a careless conviction would ruin me professionally and personally so this ticket must be quashed... this is what happened next.

I did my usual plead not guilty, immediately file for disclosure and start reading the case law... I found that almost all the case law pertains to an accident involved, well there wasn't one here.