A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
btbitola

Speeding 5 Over And Fatal Error

by: btbitola on

Hello Everyone

I'm new in this and this is my first ticket, but browsing on internet I found this site so this is my question:

I got charged with driving 55km/h in 50km/h zone, but on the ticket there are few mistakes, which from what I read on the forums are fatal. First the ticket is not signed by the officer, set fine is set on 25$ and total payable is 40$, both by my knowledge fatal errors, and couple of other mistakes like wrong birthday date and sex.

So my question is should I go to court for a trial or do nothing ?

Thank You

OPS Copper

by: OPS Copper on

If it is an electronic generated ticket it does not need to be signed.

Set fine is in the set fine box....if this is wrong then it is fatal...

however the 40 is in the total payable box and includes the victim Surcharge

GS

Note there is a member here who will tell you something different but the theories have never been fought so they are just a theory,,,

Do nothing and you will be deemed not to dispute and be convicted

OPS

btbitola

Well set fine is 25$ and when I looked today at MTO website from 0-20 km/h over fine is 3$ per km/h exceeding which will come to 15$ not 25$ as in my ticket. If i do nothing and get convicted how are the chances that I can reopen the case ?

Thanx again

OPS Copper

Why would you do nothing and get convicted? Why not just go plead not guilty and Fight on your perceived fatal errors?

Remember if you do nothing you will be convicted and don't pay your liscence will be suspended for non payment...And that will cost you the fine plus 150 to get it re-instated..

Either way you will have to go to court....So I do nt see why you want to do nothing

GS

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on