billdavis

Speeding Ticket Questions

by: billdavis on

***** I previously posted this under "Speed Traps" by mistake ********

Hello all this is my first time posting here, I like what i've read so far. You all seem like a great bunch of people :).

I hope this is in the write section

I was caught by a speed trap and given a ticket for the following offense

exactly as written on the ticket:

"SPEEDING. 75 KM/HR IN A POSTED 60KM"

What I found odd was that the officer did not ask for my insurance and registration information. He just asked for my license.

I'm a paramedic student and I had my EMS badge/parking pass on my dash but that didn't seem to make any difference.

I plan on going to court but I want to know if the officer is required to ask for insurance and registration info during a traffic stop.

Any and all advice would be appreciated.

hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

billdavis wrote: I want to know if the officer is required to ask for insurance and registration info during a traffic stop..

it is not mandatory to ask

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca
Bookm

by: Bookm on

Curious... Were you really only 15 over?? Or did he lower it?

billdavis

by: billdavis on

Bookm wrote:Curious... Were you really only 15 over?? Or did he lower it?

He said he lowered it from 95 but im not too sure about the speed.

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

If that's the case, I'd recommend paying the fine. If the officer did clock you doing 95 but lowered it to 75, that's a pretty big reduction. Speeding tickets, particularly where the officer lowered the amount a fair bit, are also not very easy to beat. They can be, but it requires some work.