Guiltygirl03

Unintentionally Failed To Stop For A School Bus

by: Guiltygirl03 on

I want to point out first of all that I am a G2 driver, today though as I was driving my friend to her Mom on my way home I had unintentionally failed to stop for a school bus I was driving about 50km/h which was the speed limit in that area and there was the school bus coming it was stopping although it had it's flashing red but the stop sign had not come out yet I accidently went through it as soon as I was a distance away that was when the stop sign had started to come out and the bus door was opening, I really only realized that I had drove through the lights when I was the distance away I felt so guilty and terrible as to what I had done and had stopped on the side of the road outside of that town. I'm worried because I've had a very clean record for the short while that I've had my G2 liscence and now I'm worried as to how it's gonna affect me and my parents because at the moment I'm under their insurance and I don't want anything to affect them I know that if you have 6 demerit points for a G2 driver that's enough to get an interview so I'm very worried as to if the bus driver had noted down my plate number even though there are many drivers that don't have enough time to note it down all the time. but I really do feel guilty about what I've done and if I have to I'm willing to admit my fault because I know what I did was wrong of me

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

1) School bus drivers are pretty aware of their surroundings. They're not going to expect incoming traffic to immediately halt on the drop of a dime with a flick of the lights. It sounds like the driver was aware and waited for you to clear before throwing the sign out.

2) If you were not pulled over at the scene, the owner of the vehicle would likely be charged since no one is going to know who was driving. There's no demerit points and no insurance implications.