Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
ticketholder

Misspelled Offence For Failing To Stop At A Stop Sign

by: ticketholder on

Hello,

I was pulled over two nights ago and charged with failing to stop a stop sign. On the ticket, it says 'disobey stop sign - foil to stop' and does not say 'fail' -- something I think may be a fatal flaw? I have been driving for 12 years with no tickets, yet I live in Brampton where insurance prices are high so I do not want to be convicted as my insurance rates will spike significantly and I can hardly afford to drive my current car (an old one).

I was thinking of meeting with the prosecutor and attempting to reduce the ticket to another charge with no demerit points as I don't mind paying a fine to just get this whole ordeal over with; I just don't want any demerit points.

My questions are:

1. Is it a fatal flaw that it says 'foil' instead of 'fail'? A pretty significant word to misspell.

2. If it is a fatal flaw, do I tell it to the prosecutor to have it dropped it how do I proceed with this?

3. Is it worth a shot to meet and attempt to reduce the ticket to a charge that just carries a fine? I read that even if the prosecutor drops the demerit points on the ticket, the insurance companies do not care and will still raise the rates. If not, maybe just decrease it to 'disobey sign' which only has 2 demerit points vs the 3 my ticket carries.

Thank you all so much!!

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

1) No, that wouldn't be a fatal error.

2) Search through the forum. There's several threads explaining how to best proceed with fatal errors.

3) Insurance providers look at all convictions, regardless of demerit points. Getting it reduced from a 3 to 2 demerit point offence would make no difference.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

ticketholder wrote:1. Is it a fatal flaw that it says 'foil' instead of 'fail'? A pretty significant word to misspell.