zoom91

Summons For Careless Driving!! Please Help!!

by: zoom91 on

Hi,

I have a summons for careless driving and am to appear in court on March 2nd, 2011. I am a starving student and really can not afford any of this right now, so I would really appreciate it if someone could please help me out with this. So here's what happened:

I was driving southbound on a single lane highway which split into a two lane highway at the intersection I was approaching. The collision took place on Jan 21st,2011, it was extremely cold that day and roads were wet and icy. I was in the single lane and when it split into two lanes there was also a left turning lane. I had to turn left at the intersection which was a red light as I approached it. No speeding was involved, I was at the speed limit when I was in the single lane and had let go of the accelerator so I was costing when I entered the left turning lane. As soon as I entered the left turning lane I applied the breaks but due to the poor weather conditions my car started to slide, so I released the breaks, reapplied them and turned the steering wheel the opposite direction. Unfortunately the car did not stop and continued to slide into the back of a truck that was stopped in the first lane to the right of the left turning lane. No damage was done to the truck, only my car suffered damage to the front right side, no airbags were deployed, no injuries. I had received 2 tickets prior to this but have not been convicted for either yet. This will be my first court case ever so I have a clean record going into this.

So far the action plan is to go in on the second of march and just plead not guilt and ask for an extension. Then to go back and blame it on the weather. Other than that I was looking at the summons and the accident took place on the 21st of January but the summons says it occurred on the 20th of January. Can I use that as grounds for anything?

I would really appreciate all the help I could get on this. Thanks